|Gilbert's Cove Lighthouse|
The Gilbert’s Cove Lighthouse was built in 1904 as a service to mariners using the once extensive sea lanes of upper St. Mary’s Bay. Its first keeper was William Melanson, nicknamed “Willy Jane”. Born in Gilbert’s Cove, he lived all his life in the community, including nearly half a century as keeper of the lighthouse. After his death his widow and later their daughter, Laurie, kept the lighthouse until it was declared redundant in the late 1960’s.
The Gilbert’s Cove Lighthouse is one of only two to have survived in the province with a centrally mounted lantern.
The provincial government leases the Gilbert’s Cove Lighthouse to the Gilbert’s Cove and District Historical Society. The Society has carefully restored and maintained the building. In 1990 the Gilbert’s Cove Lighthouse was designated a Provincial Heritage Property and is protected under the Provincial Heritage Property Act. During the summer months the Lighthouse is open to the public with an average annual attendance of between 2,000 – 3,000 tourists and local visitors.
The Gilbert’s Cove Lighthouse is one of many wonderful places to visit in the Municipality of Digby. The Lighthouse is a beautiful landmark where one can take the family on a picnic, to relax or just enjoy the scenery. This unique structure, large field and beach overlooking St. Mary’s Bay make the Gilbert’s Cove Lighthouse one of the special places to see and experience in the Municipality of Digby. We encourage all to visit and enjoy this historic site.
The Gilbert’s Cove Lighthouse is one of many wonderful places to take the family and have a picnic or just relax.